Friends of the Tay Watershed win Tri-Valley Conservation Award


It was a great night for the Tay Watershed!
Your association, the Friends of the Tay Watershed, won the Community Group category (the most highly contested category.)
Tay Valley Township won the Municipalities category.
And Irv Dardick, from that jewel in our watershed, Eagle Lake, won a Lifetime Achievement Award.
A full slate of great people, schools, businesses and groups who were recognized by the Tri-Valley Conservation Awards.
We very much appreciate that Council and staff of Tay Valley Township nominated the Friends of the Tay for this award.
However, it is our volunteers and members that won it for us. Whether you serve on the Board, volunteer at events, show up at hands-on projects or just pay your membership, you have contributed to our success and the stewardship of the Tay Watershed, and for that we thank you sincerely.

Taro Alps
Debra Belleview
Carol Dillon
Chris Stone
Friends of the Tay Watershed Executive Committee.

"We all live downstream"



RVCA Media Release                                                                                                                                                                                                                                              April 19, 2012





The much-anticipated conservation award winners in eight categories across three watersheds of Eastern Ontario were announced last night at the Tri Valley Conservation Awards ceremony held in Manotick.   The nineteen winners are:


Public Schools:                       Russell McLelland .. Churchill Alternative School,

Ottawa            (First Place)

Joyce Chartrand .. Ecole publique de la rivière Castor, Embrun


High Schools:                          St Thomas Aquinas Catholic High, Russell  (First Place)

                                                Chris Drummond .. Nepean High School, Ottawa


College/University:                  Carleton University .. Dr Steven Cooke          (First Place)

                                                Université de Guelph, Campus Alfred


Agriculture:                              Lawrenceholme Farms, Spencerville             (First Place)

                                                Gordon Garlough, Williamsburg


Business:                                Parmalat, Winchester                         (First Place)

                                                McGarry Family Chapels, Ottawa & West Quebec


Municipalities:                          Tay Valley Township                           (First Place)

                                                Lanark County Community Forest Working Group


Community Groups:               Friends of the Tay Watershed            (First Place)

                                                Westport & Area Outdoors Association


Individuals/Families:                Jim McCready, Carleton Place           (First Place)

                                                Aleta Karstad & Dr Fred Schueler, Bishops Mills


Lifetime Achievement (Mississippi Valley):                 Hans von Rosen


Lifetime Achievement (Rideau Valley)                        Irv Dardick


Lifetime Achievement (South Nation Valley)               Floyd Dingwall


“As you can imagine, the judges had to make some very difficult choices between first and second place finishers” said Rideau Valley Conservation Foundation Chair Jason Kelly.  “In reality, all of these finalists are making huge voluntary contributions to the betterment of our lives through environmental conservation and we thank them all from the bottom of our hearts.”


Over 120 people enjoyed the hospitality, the ceremony and the networking opportunity of getting together with like-minded individuals and representatives from all walks of life.   And more than one new voluntary collaborative project was hatched during this annual conservation celebration.   


Winning projects ranged from tree planting to exemplary farm practices to municipalities and businesses taking some visionary steps to take care of their local environments.   The three Lifetime Conservation Achievement winners have collectively put in almost a century of dedication to conservation.   It was a delight to acknowledge their lifetime of conservation leadership and know-how.   This is the first year that this category of award was available.


“There are so many daily conservation activities and practices going on that it is hard to keep track of them all” said Mark Burnham, Mississippi Valley Conservation Foundation Chair and Tay Valley Township Councilor.    “The goal here is to shine a light and bring some recognition to the people who are out there doing the right thing all the time.   They are real conservation heroes and role models for us all.”


South Nation Conservation Chair Lawrence Levere said, “We are very proud of all people and groups nominated in tonight’s awards no matter where they come from across Eastern Ontario.   Of course, the fact that a good many come from the South Nation just increases our pleasure and lets us bask in the glow of their accomplishments.   Hearty congratulations to all competitors.”


The Conservation Awards are organized by the Mississippi Valley, Rideau Valley and South Nation Conservation Authorities and their associated Foundations.   It is a pleasure to mention our valuable sponsors who help pay for or supply services for the event:                        



Hawley Signs & Graphics

LiVE 88.5FM Radio

The Monterey Hotel

Mountain Equipment Co-op

Rogers TV

TD Friends of the Environment Foundation.


-   end   -



More information:       


            Mississippi:     Suzanne McFarlane, 613-259-5307 ext 225



            Rideau:            Charles Billington, 613-692-3571 or 1-800-267-3504 ext 1116



            South Nation:  Gord Shaver, 1-877-984-2948 ext 296



            **  Photos are available on request from Diane Downey, RVCA Director of Communications, at